Demon Broadband ADSL2+ Upgrade FAQ’s
What is ADSL2+?
How much ADSL2+ coverage does Demon offer?
What speeds can i realistically expect?
Do i need a new contract to get ADSL2+
How much does it cost to upgrade to ADSL2+
What if i move house during my new contract term?
Will my hostname / username change?
Will my IP address(es) change?
I have submitted my upgrade order. What happens next?
How long will my upgrade take?
Will there be any disruption to my service?
Will i need to reconfigure or update any equipment?
Will i lose my Demon email address if i regrade my broadband service?
ADSL is a technology used to connect you to the Internet via your telephone line. ADSL2+ is an evolution of standard ADSL, offering most people faster and more stable speeds.
In order to offer more customers the benefits of this technology, we’re investing in and expanding our ADSL2+ footprint. Coverage will initially rise from 68% to 75%, and then to 90% by Spring 2013 (subject to BT’s 21CN exchange roll-out programme).
To get the best broadband performance, you should use an ADSL2+ compatible router and have telephone filters connected to all telephone points. The graph below indicates the speed you may achieve, based on how long the telephone line is between your property and local telephone exchange. The actual speed you achieve will depend on the quality of your specific telephone line and many other factors. Read more about what affects your broadband speed.
Customers with lines longer than 3500 metres (3.5km) may not see a significant increase in speed when moving from ADSL to ADSL2+. By entering the telephone number of your broadband line into our Availability Checker, you can easily check your estimated speed.
Yes. You can choose from a 12-month or 24-month contract when moving to ADSL2+.
There is a one-off administrative charge of £25 to regrade your product to ADSL2+.
If you sign up for a Demon service at your new property, we will release you from the contract for the service at your previous property.
Your hostname / username will not change.
The IP address(es) we have assigned to your account will not change.
Once you have submitted your upgrade order, you will receive an email within two working days confirming that your order has been received and is being processed. This will also include an estimated timescale for completion of your upgrade.
Your upgrade will be completed within 10-15 days. You’ll receive a confirmation email when the upgrade is finished.
The upgrade may involve a brief disconnection of your service. Openreach quote a downtime of up to 15 minutes, but in general the disconnection lasts no longer than 5 minutes.
We will email you to confirm your upgrade date, and again when your upgrade is actually completed. At this point, we suggest powering down your broadband router for 30 seconds, then powering back up and allowing several minutes before using the Internet. If you have chosen to receive a new router from us, this is the ideal time to swap them over.
A free, pre-configured plug-and-play wireless N router can be supplied as part of your regrade. We recommend that you select this option when you place your order. You should remove your existing router and plug in this new router once you have received confirmation that your regrade has been completed.
If you have your own router, you will need to check with your manufacturer that it is ADSL2+ compatible to get the best from your upgraded service.
If you require the router settings, these can be found on our Router Settings page.
No. Your existing hostname / username will not change.