Thunderbird Configuration Guide

  • Load Thunderbird.
  • Click “Tools” from the top menu and then “Account settings”.
  • Click “Account actions” in the bottom left of the screen and then “Add mail account”.

  • Populate this screen as follows:
    • Your name – Your real name as you’d like it to appear in emails.
    • Email address – The full Demon email address you have always used (e.g. bob@yourhostname.demon.co.uk or sarah@domainname).
    • Password – The new password we assigned you, or whatever you changed it to in the Demon Email Management Portal, if you’ve changed it.
    • Ensure “Remember password” is ticked.
  • Click “Continue”.
  • This will attempt to lookup provider information, which will FAIL, and take you to the next screen where you can correct the information present.

  • Populate this screen as follows:
    • Your name – Your real name as you’d like it to appear in emails.
    • Email address – The full Demon email address you have always used (e.g. bob@yourhostname.demon.co.uk or sarah@domainname).
    • Password – The new password we assigned you, or whatever you changed it to in the Demon Email Management Portal, if you’ve changed it.
    • Ensure “Remember password” is ticked.
    • Incoming: POP3 | mail.demon.co.uk | 995 | SSL/TLS | Normal password
    • Outgoing: SMTP | smtp.demon.co.uk | 587 | STARTTLS | Normal password
    • Username – administrator@yourhostname.demon.co.uk or whatever address you set as Primary in the Demon Email Management Portal, if you’ve changed it.
  • Please note – some anti-virus programs may not be able to scan outgoing email, if you choose an encrypted SSL connection instead of STARTTLS, in which case you will need to remove the SSL option.
  • Click “Done”.
  • This should return you to the “Account settings” menu. If not, you can access it from the main Thunderbird window by clicking “Tools” and then “Account Settings” again.

  • Down the left side, under your newly created account, click on “Server settings”.
  • Leave everything as it is, except ensuring “Leave messages on server” is ticked. We also suggest setting “For at most” to 30 days.
  • You can now click OK and begin using your account.